Ashman Elementary’s Tuttle Receives Arch Achievement Award

Richfield, Utah (April 15, 2011) – As a child, Janiece Tuttle was a frustrated learner. “It seemed to me that teaching meant stand and deliver. I yearned to be totally engaged in the learning process,” recalls the 20-year teaching veteran.

These experiences did not deter her from obtaining a degree in education, however; just the opposite, in fact. “It motivated me to find a better way to seek out and learn the best teaching strategies,” Tuttle says. “I loved learning and knew there had to be a better way to teach. I knew that I could become the kind of teacher who captivated her students and motivated them to love learning.”

Today Tuttle received affirmation that she has a gift for teaching. She became one of only five Utah teachers to receive a 2011 Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award. Arch Coal Senior Vice President Paul Lang made the announcement at Ashman Elementary School. He was accompanied by Utah Education Association Vice President Tom Nedreberg. This is the fifth year the Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards have been made in Utah.

“Janiece Tuttle believes every teacher who enters the field of education must believe that all students can meet or exceed their individual growth targets,” says Lang. “She says teachers must firmly believe that the single most influential component of an effective school is the individual teachers within that school.”

A Richfield resident, Tuttle teaches extended-day kindergarten students at Ashman Elementary, Richfield. “Every student that enters my classroom has the right and privilege to be instructed by a well-educated teacher who consistently uses tools and research-based practices to optimize instruction,” she says. “I am excited to come to my classroom every day and fulfill my responsibilities as a teacher.

“I am a performer, much like the performer in a compelling Broadway play, completely captivating the audience,” she adds. “I create a classroom environment where my students are completely engaged in the learning process. Every day I become a performer, a creator and an empathizer. I love it!”

Tuttle earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees at Southern Utah University, Cedar City. She has continued her education through classes, workshops, academies, and as a presenter. She participated in a humanitarian service mission to a school in Ecuador, helping to paint buildings, move rocks, install a roof and pour concrete for the floor of another building, and donating enough school supplies to last the teacher two years. She is the Young Women’s President of her LDS ward and serves on her school’s Community Council. Tuttle has served as kindergarten team leader many times and has trained seven student teachers.

The Arch Coal Foundation’s teacher recognition program is available to classroom teachers in Carbon, Emery, Sanpete and Sevier counties. The counties surround the Skyline, Dugout Canyon and Sufco mines operated by Canyon Fuel Company, a subsidiary of major U.S. coal producer Arch Coal, Inc. Each recipient receives a distinctive trophy, a classroom plaque and a $3,500 personal, cash award.

Partners for the program include the Office of the Governor, Utah State Office of Education, Utah Education Association, Utah School Superintendents Association, Carbon County School District, Emery County School District, Sevier County School District, North Sanpete School District, South Sanpete School District, Far West Bank, Market Express, radio stations KMTI, KLGL, KMGR, KSVC, KCYQ, KOAL, KARB, KRPX, and both TacoTime and Bookcliff Sales in Price.

Arch’s Canyon Fuel Company is Utah’s largest coal producer and a large, state employer, with a workforce of more than 800. U.S.-based Arch Coal, Inc. (NYSE:ACI) is one of the world’s largest and most efficient coal producers, with more than 160 million tons of coal sold in 2010. Arch’s national network of mines supplies cleaner-burning, low-sulfur coal to customers on four continents, including U.S. and international power producers and steel manufacturers.

Information about each of the five current recipients, as well as past recipients, is posted at